NaNoWriMo Is Coming!

 

 

 

2013-Participant-Square-Button

In about 21 days or so, NaNoWriMo will begin.  If you are not familiar with NaNo, it’s a 30 day marathon to write 50,000 words, to pen your novel.  For many it’s a crazy time of year.

I have tried and failed at NaNo since 2005.  The first year I did it, I had no idea what it was, what to expect, how to go about it.  Then next year, I was determined.  I had a better understanding of it, but then shit fell apart.  My Grandma got sick, was in the hospital, came home and died a week later on Thanksgiving Day.  The next several years I have just been trying to reconnect with my Muse, to find my Voice, to write.  It just hasn’t been going too successfully.

Much of that though is of my own doing.  I was going through some old emails between myself and a long-lost friend.  And some of his words really hit me in a new way.  My words…OMG…my words opened my eyes to how I’ve looked at myself for the last 6 years.  Hell how I’ve looked at myself almost my whole life.

I’ve always seen myself as not good enough, unworthy.  Since I started trying to write a novel, I’ve seen myself as a failure.  That my writing isn’t good enough.  BUT….the thing is…my old friend told me I was good, that I had it in me.  My Beloved has told me I’m good.  I once got the nerve to submit a sample of my WIP to a stranger for critique and they even told me I was good, that I just needed to work on more showing and not telling so much.

So if I have all these people telling me I’m good, why can’t I believe it myself?  I don’t know.  I chalk it up to years of conditioning.

What’s going to be different about this year?  I don’t know that either.  Will I be making more of an effort to reach word count goals?  YES!  Will I end up stopping somewhere along the way because the voices won’t speak to me?  I don’t know, but I hope not.  Will there be self-doubt and negative gremlins whispering at me that I suck?  Most definitely.  Will I listen to them?  I hope not.

I honestly want this year to be different!  I really want to win this one!!!

Now, I’m a panster not a plotter so that tends to make things a bit harder.  I prefer to write long hand.  Yep the old-fashioned way with pen and paper!  I do have Liquid Story Binder that I bought about 3 years ago and I like it well enough.  But I just downloaded the latest trial of Scrivner.  I’m excited to try it.  It’s good through December 7th.  And if I win….I can buy it for 50% off!  So another reason to try and win!

So come join the madness of NaNoWriMo if you dare!  It’s going to be a crazy ride!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SaphirDrachen
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 19:38:52

    You can do it! 🙂 I pantsed it last year and finally won after, I think it was 5 tries? This year I’ll be pantsing it again, for the most part, but I have a sort of vague idea for my story. 🙂

    Reply

    • morgainesmusings
      Oct 10, 2013 @ 19:49:48

      Hey Thanks 😀
      I’m going to give a good shot. One of these years I have to win 😀

      Reply

      • SaphirDrachen
        Oct 10, 2013 @ 19:58:49

        I almost gave up two years ago, and skipped NaNo in 2011. But then I took a great creative writing class at college and my confidence was boosted. 🙂 And it really doesn’t matter if you get the whole 50k words in the end, as long as you wrote something. 😀

  2. Creative Mysteries
    Oct 12, 2013 @ 07:36:43

    Good luck with NaNo this year! I hope you win and get your winner’s discount of Scrivener. It’s a great program once you get the hang of it. Here’s to a NaNoWriMo victory 🙂

    Reply

    • morgainesmusings
      Oct 12, 2013 @ 11:23:48

      Hi and thanks 🙂
      It looks like a great program. I can’t wait to try out the extended trial version.
      Good luck to you too if you’ll be writing.
      Here’s to Victory!!! 😀

      Reply

  3. puckishwird
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 07:55:08

    Scrivener is great for pantsers – it allows you to plot on the fly as it were. Suddenly get an idea in the middle of a chapter? Just hit a button and it will pop out a new document that you can put a quick note in (either the notecard or the notes section) Good luck! You can do it! We all go through the self doubt thing. Just picture the little self doubt gremlin in your head, give him a hug and a cookie and then go about YOUR business.

    Reply

    • morgainesmusings
      Oct 18, 2013 @ 10:21:03

      Hi Puckishwird, thanks for stopping by and for the words of encouragement.
      I’m going to need a lot of cookies then LOL.
      I can’t wait to try out Scrivener. I’ve got the trial, but I find it easier to
      pen and paper everything to start. Hoping that this weekend I can tinker with it, pop
      in the ideas I have so far and see what it does and how I like the program.

      Good luck to you as well!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 190 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

The EYE of ODEN

He Sees All . . . But Rarely Understands It

As The Phoenix Rises

A walk in this Witch's shoes

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

hecatedemeter

Undermining the Patriarchy Every Chance I Get. And I Get a Lot of Chances (Copyright Preserved)

The Sword and the Keyboard

Bookish Blogging & More by Lee Ann Kostempski

Witches Of The Craft®

"Witchcraft for the 21st Century"

WoodsPriestess

Exploring the intersection between Nature, the Goddess, art, and poetry as well as the practical work of priestessing.

john pavlovitz

Stuff That Needs To Be Said

Writingalife's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

BeingRena

figuring it out as I go

bujo bear

For all things bujo, book and beyond...

Shar Inspired Planning

Planning . School . Organization . Planning Life

A Kiss At Midnight Reviews

Reviews written by sweet girls who could make a sailor blush

Trendovy

Inspire Creativity Daily! Art Journaling, Creative Notebooks, Jewelry Making, And All things artsy!

Lamus Dworski

Uncovering Poland: folklore, customs, mythology, legends, history, and more.

 Stanczyk - Internet Muse™

... A Muse — ing                                                

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

