Five Days Until NaNoWriMo!

We’re five days away from insanity.  I say this because I must be insane to think I can write 50,000 words in 30 days of anything.  If I do succeed, it will be total shit.  But that I hear is a good thing, it means I have gotten some form of my story written down.  It doesn’t have to be good, it just has to be written.  Right?  RIGHT!

My fingers are getting itchy to start.  I’ve been here before.  Anxiously waiting for 12:01 AM of November 1st so that I can write the first few shitty words of my NaNo story.  The first couple of days, up to perhaps the first five go okay.  Not necessarily hitting the word goals, but still writing.  And then….it usually all goes to shit.  That’s about when the Muse grows quiet, the characters stop talking or fighting or both, and then there’s nothing. 

Like right now, like the last week or two…they (the characters) keep talking, characters from my first NaNo are begging to be worked into this story.  A character I had started to develop for a collaborative exercise who was loosely based off an idea I had for a future story idea is telling me she belongs in THIS story.  It could all work.  It really could.  The old voices can be part of this new idea, it can give them life.  I know I could weave the two ideas together so that my original idea from so long ago could actually be born into existence.   Nyx (that’s what she’s currently calling herself) could totally be brought into this story too. 

To keep from forgetting things, I’ve been writing them down in my notebook.  Only thing is it goes from the intent of being some notes to like 4 pages of writing.  These pages are just rough drafts, they are missing details and more information.  But I am finding it so hard to restrain myself from starting.  I am afraid that once the clock strikes and it’s November that it will all die out again.  How do I keep the momentum going?  How do I keep the ideas from fizzling out, the voices from growing silent? 

Oh NaNoWriMo, how you excite and scare me at the same time.  For once I hope the fear doesn’t win out.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 196 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

themoonlitpathblog

A seeker's journey

Three Hundred and Sixty-Six

A personal exploration of Wiccan spirituality

ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

Scott Oden

Purveyor of half-truths and lies.

As The Phoenix Rises

A walk in this Witch's shoes

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

hecatedemeter

Undermining the Patriarchy Every Chance I Get. And I Get a Lot of Chances (Copyright Preserved)

The Sword and the Keyboard

Bookish Blogging & More by Lee Ann Kostempski

Witches Of The Craft®

"Witchcraft for the 21st Century"

WoodsPriestess

Exploring the intersection between Nature, the Goddess, art, and poetry as well as the practical work of priestessing.

john pavlovitz

Stuff That Needs To Be Said

Writingalife's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

BeingRena

figuring it out as I go

bujo bear

For all things bujo, book and beyond...

Shar Inspired Planning

Planning . School . Organization . Planning Life

A Kiss At Midnight Reviews

Reviews written by sweet girls who could make a sailor blush

