It’s Almost Time!

In approximately T- 45 minutes Mountain Time, NaNoWriMo will begin for me.  I have my notebook beside me, to get the first few words started before I head to bed.   But I have to be honest, I’m not really feeling it right now.

The last couple days the excitement, the anticipation have waned.  I have begun to have my doubts.  I started to ponder why does this happen every time.  And it hit me! 

November 1st is also my late Grandmother’s birthday!  She would have been 93.  November is also the month she passed away, on Thanksgiving. 

Of course!  I don’t know how I didn’t make the connection earlier.  The closer it gets to her birthday, the less excited I am about NaNo.  It’s not a happy month for me.  I miss her terribly, even more so around this time of year.  

I know she wouldn’t want me to not do something I enjoy, something I love.  And I love writing, when I get going with it.  She wouldn’t want me to give up on my dreams just because I miss her.  Just because November just happens to coincide with her birthday and passing.

So, I am going to try and dedicate this month to her memory.  To honor her strong will and perseverance.  I will dedicate NaNo to her and I will do my best to write 50,000 words.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 196 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

themoonlitpathblog

A seeker's journey

Three Hundred and Sixty-Six

A personal exploration of Wiccan spirituality

ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

Scott Oden

Purveyor of half-truths and lies.

As The Phoenix Rises

A walk in this Witch's shoes

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

hecatedemeter

Undermining the Patriarchy Every Chance I Get. And I Get a Lot of Chances (Copyright Preserved)

The Sword and the Keyboard

Bookish Blogging & More by Lee Ann Kostempski

Witches Of The Craft®

"Witchcraft for the 21st Century"

WoodsPriestess

Exploring the intersection between Nature, the Goddess, art, and poetry as well as the practical work of priestessing.

john pavlovitz

Stuff That Needs To Be Said

Writingalife's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

BeingRena

figuring it out as I go

bujo bear

For all things bujo, book and beyond...

Shar Inspired Planning

Planning . School . Organization . Planning Life

A Kiss At Midnight Reviews

Reviews written by sweet girls who could make a sailor blush

