NaNoWriMo – I’m Really Doing It!

It is now day 10 of NaNoWriMo.  To keep on the 50k track I needed to break 15k yesterday.  I was a little bit behind (about 4,000 words behind).  I slacked off the two previous days, not for because I didn’t want to write.  But because I pulled a muscle in my lower back and the pain was pretty distracting.  It was stupid, I should have been more careful….hell I should have asked my tall and handsome better half to reach it for me.  Inside I pulled a toddler moment of ” I do it!” and oh I did it alright. 

Thankfully I am feeling a bit better.  Yesterday I was determined to catch up.  So I did what anyone that many words behind does.  I procrastinated.All.Day.Long!  Finally sometime around 7 PM, I had enough of this dragging my feet bullshit.  I poured myself a glass of wine, got a pillow to put behind my back to ease the pain, and found a LotR trilogy soundtrack on You-Tube (Pandora just wasn’t cutting it last night).  The sound track was 3 hours and 30 some odd minutes long. 

I opened up my Liquid Story Binder and went to work.  At about the 3 hour and 20 minute mark according to the ‘video’ playing, I was officially at 15,601 words.  Not only did I meet the goal, I passed it.  I had started at about 11,880 words roughly. 

I cannot believe I am actually doing this.  In some ways it kind of feels like a dream.  I’ve written on and off for just over eight years.  This is my 8th attempt at NaNoWriMO.  I have never ever finished any writing attempt or NaNo.  HELL!  I have never written this many words.  I don’t think I have ever even written daily like this.

I gotta say….IT FEELS PRETTY DAMN GOOD!  Even on the days where I just wasn’t feeling it as much, or these couple of pain filled days where I thought “eh I can skip right?”  I didn’t.  I wrote something, added to my story.  Even if it was just a few hundred words. 

Today, then it means to stay on track for word count I need just a hair over a 1000 words.  I can do that. 

Honestly I wanted to update on progress here sooner, but I was afraid I’d jinx it.  I’m still afraid that something will break and I won’t finish.  But a part of me really feels like I can win this time.

Hope you are all having a successful NaNo too.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. SaphirDrachen
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 12:04:37

    I know exactly how you feel with having that many words written in a project. 🙂 Last year’s NaNo was the first time I’d ever finished a long project like that and it felt amazing. And that came after trying NaNo for a few years and then skipping in 2011. (I almost gave up completely, then decided to give it one more chance last year. So glad I did.)

    Don’t give up! You can do it! 😀 And I hope your back gets better soon. If you ever need to do a sprint to catch up on word count, I suggest looking up @NaNoWordSpints on twitter. They do pretty much back-to-back sprints of different lengths and with optional prompts. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 190 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

The EYE of ODEN

He Sees All . . . But Rarely Understands It

As The Phoenix Rises

A walk in this Witch's shoes

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

hecatedemeter

Undermining the Patriarchy Every Chance I Get. And I Get a Lot of Chances (Copyright Preserved)

The Sword and the Keyboard

Bookish Blogging & More by Lee Ann Kostempski

Witches Of The Craft®

"Witchcraft for the 21st Century"

WoodsPriestess

Exploring the intersection between Nature, the Goddess, art, and poetry as well as the practical work of priestessing.

john pavlovitz

Stuff That Needs To Be Said

Writingalife's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

BeingRena

figuring it out as I go

bujo bear

For all things bujo, book and beyond...

Shar Inspired Planning

Planning . School . Organization . Planning Life

A Kiss At Midnight Reviews

Reviews written by sweet girls who could make a sailor blush

Trendovy

Inspire Creativity Daily! Art Journaling, Creative Notebooks, Jewelry Making, And All things artsy!

Lamus Dworski

Uncovering Poland: folklore, customs, mythology, legends, history, and more.

 Stanczyk - Internet Muse™

... A Muse — ing                                                

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

