The NaNo That Didn’t Among Other Things

I started off November thinking I would fully participate in NaNo.  The intent was strongly there.  I got 600 words in.  The ideas were there, but the thoughts didn’t want to flow together.  Sure I could have just typed out drivel after drivel of jumbled words and maybe I should have.  But after seeing how many people were freaking out over word counts, meeting or not meeting word counts, people writing all 50,000 words or more in one day….I began to think.  Why are all these people stressing and/or doing ridiculous things for something that is (in my opinion) supposed to be a fun challenge.  I decided about half way through and still sitting at my puny 600 words that I didn’t want to be a part of the pack.  I have enough stress in life without adding to it even if through osmosis of reading other peoples posts.  Maybe I should avoid reading posts in NaNo groups next time.  But I have also decided (just now actually) that If or When I write my novel(s) it will be on my terms, and not because I get a certificate and discounts for completing a word goal.  Now don’t get me wrong, I do love the concept of NaNo.  I just don’t like the way some people have turned into what can seem like an unwinable competition.  (okay, stepping of the soap box for now)

Art…..I did make a couple of pieces.  That in itself is a huge achievement!  Especially considering how much I haven’t created.  I find that my art supplies seem to intimidate me.  Add into that mix the fact that I think I can’t be creative enough or what I make might not be good enough. So what happens is I end up staring at my art supplies and blank canvases rather than creating.

My newest hobby is taking Instagram photos with my tablet.  A challenge since it doesn’t have the greatest camera on it.  I wish I had a DSLR camera, preferably something wi-fi ready so that I can take better pictures and upload them.

Also have gotten back in to crocheting a bit.  I’ve been requested to make some boot cuffs as a Christmas gift.  There’s a new baby on the way in the family and I’ve been tossing about the idea of making a blanket for the baby.  And I’ve yet to finish my “Outlander” inspired “Claire Cowl”. Not to mention some of the other things I want to try and make.

This is going to be such a busy month.  Tomorrow is hopefully my last doctor’s appointment, hoping for good news.  Christmas tree needs to be bought and decorated.  Other busyness that comes with a major holiday month.  The brother and his wife that I haven’t met yet will be arriving in less than two weeks and staying for a week.  Sister #3 will be having her baby sometime this month.  Holiday dinners, a sleigh ride weather permitting. Just busy, Busy, BUSY!

If I don’t get around to another post, I wish you all a Blessed Yule and Happy Holidays.  Happy New Year too.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 190 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

The EYE of ODEN

He Sees All . . . But Rarely Understands It

As The Phoenix Rises

A walk in this Witch's shoes

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

Join me as I edit my first novel and aim for publication

hecatedemeter

Undermining the Patriarchy Every Chance I Get. And I Get a Lot of Chances (Copyright Preserved)

The Sword and the Keyboard

Bookish Blogging & More by Lee Ann Kostempski

Witches Of The Craft®

"Witchcraft for the 21st Century"

WoodsPriestess

Exploring the intersection between Nature, the Goddess, art, and poetry as well as the practical work of priestessing.

john pavlovitz

Stuff That Needs To Be Said

Writingalife's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

BeingRena

figuring it out as I go

bujo bear

For all things bujo, book and beyond...

Shar Inspired Planning

Planning . School . Organization . Planning Life

A Kiss At Midnight Reviews

Reviews written by sweet girls who could make a sailor blush

Trendovy

Inspire Creativity Daily! Art Journaling, Creative Notebooks, Jewelry Making, And All things artsy!

Lamus Dworski

Uncovering Poland: folklore, customs, mythology, legends, history, and more.

 Stanczyk - Internet Muse™

... A Muse — ing                                                

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

